Sphere College Project

A New World of Learning

Thanks, Dad

1 Comment

My, how time flies! I was updating this blog quite regularly and there was a regular following, then apparently I dropped off the face of the earth. What’s a bit surprising is that this blog still gets a number of hits per day, averaging around 30 and spiking up to 60 or so even when I’m not updating it. There was a time in the beginning when 30 hits in a day was very high!

My primary reason for taking a blogging break was that I must shift my focus to more effective forms of fundraising for the college. The truth of the matter is that the college must experience a significant increase in donations—either in size of donation or number of people giving small amounts, or both—in the coming weeks or we’ll be closing our doors for a while. I must seek an income for myself so that I can meet my personal financial obligations and continue to support the college as we figure out how to take the college to the next level. I haven’t perceived that the blog has contributed significantly to the income of the college, and was planning to write a blog entry stating that I was going to take a hiatus.

However, during my recent visit with my Dad in Brevard, NC I realized that he has been following the blog all along, and has been disappointed in the lack of updates. This is a serious oversight on my part, since if it were not for him the College simply would not have lasted this long at all. I have borrowed large chunks of money from him to support the College, and it has not been easy for him to do this. He has his own financial obligations, including medical expenses. Although he has insurance, his medical bills are high like everyone else’s. So to say “Thank You” to my Dad for his support I pledge to begin blogging again.

So Dad, along with the other members of the Sphere College community, I thank you.

To catch others up on some things that have been going on recently, here’s a bit of news:

I spent last week in Washington, DC attending a Buckminster Fuller Institute event announcing the winner of the 2010 Buckminster Fuller Challenge. At the event I met many fascinating people who are doing good work in the world according to principles outlined by R. Buckminster Fuller. I also had the opportunity to meet with (and stay with) several of my former students from Ursinus College. It was great to see you!

The Sphere College classes continue, led by Michael Reddy. We are currently discussing the book Crucial Conversations by Kerry Patterson, Joseph Grenny, Ron McMillan and Al Switzler. It’s a difficult and important topic, and it is our hope that increasing our skills with this kind of conversation will significantly enhance our ability to have the kinds of conversations that are inevitable while building an organization.

There’s so much more to say, but there’s also much to do, so I’m off to do some writing and connecting. Stay tuned!

Author: Richard Liston

Musician, computer scientist, educator. I'm creating a new educational environment for adults.

One thought on “Thanks, Dad

  1. Thanks Richard’s Dad!

Leave a Reply

