Sphere College Project

A New World of Learning

Event Speeches

Leave a comment

Tonight, Friday May 7th, we’re having a Black and White (and Red) fundraiser on the third floor of Molly Maguire’s in Phoenixville. The event is free and open to the public. Details are available in the recent blog post, “Black and White Affair”. Come prepared to support the College!

With each event I need to make a speech. It’s really important to convey a sense of what the College is about and the effect it will have on society. Now, as a trombone player and computer scientist making this kind of speech wasn’t exactly something I learned about. Although I’ve spoken to tons of 3rd, 4th and 5th graders (literally!) about music and musical instruments, and an equal weight in adults about topics in computer science, I haven’t been in a position of regularly making this particular kind of speech—one that involves emotion. Each time I do it, it gets easier.

You’ve probably all heard standard advice about preparing speeches, and I’ve been employing it: use humor, keep to the point, imagine the audience naked (that one’s not really working so well—who thought of that one?!), and practicing in front of a mirror (the Chinese hanging with a demon face on it is good, too). That’s the best I can do, so tonight I’ll really dig down deep and deliver everything I’ve got.

I look forward to seeing people there all dressed up and enjoying themselves in support of a good cause, and I hope to get an opportunity to meet everyone!

Author: Richard Liston

Musician, computer scientist, educator. I'm creating a new educational environment for adults.

Leave a Reply

