Sphere College Project

A New World of Learning

I’m a Rock Star

1 Comment

REMINDERS:

Mark your calendars for the Sphere College First Anniversary Celebration on Tuesday, April 20 at the Colonial Theatre in Phoenixville. There will be a reception at 6pm, presentation at 7pm, we’ll screen the winners of the Sphere College Short Film Contest at 7:30, and the feature film, Living in Oblivion will be at 8pm.

The Sphere College Short Film Contest is accepting entries through April 10. Tell your film/video-making friends. Let’s see those submissions!


Ok, well, maybe not exactly a rock star. But I do seem to be finding my way toward being a community leader. Cool. Until recently I never thought of myself in that way. But hey, I keep saying I’ve been learning as much as anyone in creating this college. And part of the vision of the faculty and administration is that we will be as willing as anyone to learn.

So several interesting things happened over the past week or so: I attended the Community Prayer Breakfast at Valley Forge Christian College on Saturday, March 27. Many people I know recommended it, so this year I got to go. Each year someone is honored with a Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Humanitarian Award, and this year’s recipient was Dr. Lorna Stuart of The Clinic. We had a nice breakfast, and there were some great speeches. And hey, I won the door prize! It was $100 to donate to the charity of my choice. Well, I could have donated it to Sphere College, of course, but after the speech by Dr. Don Meyer, President of VFCC, about takers, keepers and givers, that didn’t exactly seem to be in the spirit of the morning. And clearly The Clinic and their clientele are in great need in the current economic environment. So I opted to donate it to The Clinic.

Well, this got me talking last week to Mr. Don Coppedge, the well-known Phoenixville community leader who delivered the check to me, about Sphere College (not to mention some fascinating stories about Phoenixville history!). He was so moved by the idea of Sphere College that he invited me to speak at the Phoenixville Kiwanis Club. Fantastic! These are just the people I need to be meeting and who can help develop Sphere College.

And then just today I happened to be speaking with Chuck Benz, Vice President of Phoenixville Federal Bank & Trust. He and I had spoken about the College some time ago, and this time I told him of some of the recent developments, so he offered to have me speak for the Rotary Club of Phoenixville. Wow, two invitations in a week!

And now more and more people around the area are telling me that they have heard about Sphere College. So suddenly the word seems to be getting out about it. Maybe people just needed to see the level of commitment of the students who have been coming to classes for NEARLY A YEAR! Maybe it’s the weather. Maybe it’s just time for this to happen. But it sure is gratifying to see things coming together for the College.

So please become a part of this and take a moment visit the DONATE! page and help support this very important and timely project. As always I would like to express my heartfelt thanks to the supporters of Sphere College. Any amount is deeply appreciated. It simply wouldn’t exist without you. Rock on.

Author: Richard Liston

Musician, computer scientist, educator. I'm creating a new educational environment for adults.

One thought on “I’m a Rock Star

  1. Tipping Point! Yay!

Leave a Reply

