Sphere College Project

A New World of Learning

What Next?

11 Comments

There are so many things to blog about regarding the College. Selecting one topic is a rather daunting task. I no longer presume to know what the audience of this blog would be interested in hearing about next, and it would be so simple to just ask! So… what would you like me to write about? Need some suggestions? Here are just a few possibilities:

What text the classes have chosen next.

Why the classes chose that text.

Where the Steering Committee met.

What the agenda of the first Steering Committee was.

How the first Steering Committee ran—haphazardly? According to Robert’s Rules of Order?

Whether anything was accomplished in the first Steering Committee meeting.

What was selected by the Steering Committee as the primary issue to take up.

What’s happening outside the actual class meetings.

Whether any progress has been made towards achieving non-profit status.

Whether any progress has been made towards establishing a relationship with a fiscal agent.

How things have been going with my assistant, Steve.

Whether I’ve met with any students outside the regular classes meetings.

What major decisions have been made on the part of the College.

Whether any new students have joined the College.

What the class discussions have been like.

Whether any of the students have left the College yet.

Whether there have been any visitors to the classes.

I look forward to hearing from you!

Author: Richard Liston

Musician, computer scientist, educator. I'm creating a new educational environment for adults.

11 thoughts on “What Next?

  1. Um – yes!!!
    Of course I realize that might take quite a while.
    I am glad things are going well…

  2. How about:

    R. All of the above!

    • Hah! That would take some serious focus. When I’m not working on all the other things on my plate my focus tends to be, well… flippant. I’m sure I’ll get to some of it soon, though.

  3. My suggestions! (I picked five)

    -What text the classes have chosen next.

    -Why the classes chose that text.

    -What major decisions have been made on the part of the College.

    -What the class discussions have been like.

    -Whether there have been any visitors to the classes. (Would you like any? 😉 )

    • Now that’s something I can do! I asked the classes (that’s the way Sphere College will work) and they said yes, visitors are welcome. Maybe a certain Ph.D. student would like to visit? The classes are on Thursdays. Anyone interested in visiting should contact me and I’ll give you the details.

  4. ALL OF THE ABOVE!!!

  5. Are classes continuing now, i.e. during August?

    • Yes, classes are ongoing in August. I will be out of town next week, but I’ve been out of town before and the students continued just fine without me although I wish I could be in all the class meetings because I, too, learn so much from them.

Leave a Reply

