Sphere College Project

A New World of Learning

Learning from the Best

Leave a comment

Last night my sister, Lyn, a former student, Scott Kulp, and I attended a lecture in NYC about Black Mountain College (http://www.opencenter.org/black-mountain-the-extraordinary-experiment/) which, as I’ve already mentioned, heavily influenced the thinking behind Sphere College. The panelists were all at BMC in its later years and I learned an enormous amount about teaching, learning and organizational structure by hearing their stories. I’m so thankful that this session was organized, and in the future I hope to have the opportunity to speak more with these panelists and others who attended BMC. I plan to be down in NC at the end of May and will be stopping in on the Black Mountain College Museum in Asheville, which I highly encourage everyone to do.

Author: Richard Liston

Musician, computer scientist, educator. I'm creating a new educational environment for adults.

Leave a Reply

