Sphere College Project

A New World of Learning

Happy Sphere Eve

5 Comments

Hi all,

Great news: classes start tomorrow (Tue, May 5)! There are 15 very enthusiastic students (co-learners, symmathetes) signed up (another student just joined tonight). They come from many different backgrounds, ages, income levels, ethnic groups, genders (well, both), etc., divided into two groups according to their schedules. One group will meet at 4pm at Wolfgang Books and the other will meet at 7pm in the Colonial Theatre. They’ll all have read the first bit of Gilgamesh so we’ll be ready to dive into some interesting discussion right off the bat, and we’ll also spend some time getting to know one another. Unfortunately, not everyone can be at the first class meetings, but that’s the way it goes. There will be time.

The hardest part of my work seems almost done. From here on out the College will largely be carried by the students in whatever way they can and wish to. I certainly hope you get to hear from them more than you hear from me, although I have appreciated your listening and your support up to this point. But from here on out it is they who will need our listening and support the most, so that’s my priority for where my energies will be placed. I will continue to update this blog, though, and if you aren’t getting enough in the way of updates, please feel free to ask and I’ll post something. It would be particularly helpful if you post or send a question. This will help me know what you’re most interested in hearing about.

Ok, it’s late and it’s time to sleep. Have a great week, and please keep the students in your thoughts.

Cheeers,

Richard

Author: Richard Liston

Musician, computer scientist, educator. I'm creating a new educational environment for adults.

5 thoughts on “Happy Sphere Eve

  1. Good luck, and have fun!!

    Though I am kind of curious… How come you are starting now, when all other schools are getting out? 🙂

    • Thanks! Because I have 15 talented and enthusiastic students, the space, the texts, and my own desire. One student just graduated three days ago and is diving in today!!! I asked him several times whether he’s sure he wants to do that and he’s totally into it! I just met him last night, too. 🙂

      • Oh, gee—I just realized I was talking about you to this new student just this morning! What a coincidence!

  2. Oh!!!

    And also, I think you should have a s’mores night!

    Also can I visit your college when I am home in a couple weeks? =D

    • Oh, yeah, baby—s’mores! And of course you can visit! I’ll put you to work, though. 🙂

Leave a Reply

