Sphere College Project

A New World of Learning

A Very Good Friday

Leave a comment

There is some very good news to report today:

Just a couple of days ago I concluded that instead of waiting for an assistant to materialize I just would go ahead and begin the Phase I classes. I mean, people are ready to start learning (some have been waiting for quite some time!), I’m ready to start teaching (facilitating learning, really), I have a set of books collected by members of the Ursinus College ACM ready to hand out, and the space is available. I was concerned that starting classes may cause me to become even more overwhelmed than I already am, but I decided I would just approach the students (a more descriptive word would be nice; something like co-learners, but that sounds a bit trite—maybe the ‘students’ themselves will come up with something better) and ask whether anyone would like to participate in the formation of the college. This could make for an excellent practical experience in itself.

And then…

While speaking with a friend today he offered to donate the time of a couple of his employees as assistants (after checking with them). If this works out, then in addition to the Ursinus College students who are already assisting in this effort as interns, the school will soon have people who will dedicate time each week in support of the project. The details still need to be worked out, but with this development it appears as though a truly a significant hurdle is being cleared. I’ll still ask the students to participate in the formation of the college, but the new assistants will provide a degree of coherence necessary for success. It is my hope that from here on out the college will begin to take on a life of its own, developing momentum and finding its way.

The next step is to schedule the initial meeting(s) of all the participants (students and Advisory Group members) to make sure everyone is on the same page, collect their schedules, set up the meetings and get things rolling!

Author: Richard Liston

Musician, computer scientist, educator. I'm creating a new educational environment for adults.

Leave a Reply

