Sphere College Project

A New World of Learning

Plugging Away

Leave a comment

I plan to post something here on a bi-weekly-ish basis. So, here’s the second installment…

An excellent artist, Lindsey Stone, who has also done fabulous artwork for Venatio Creo is working on a logo for Sphere College. We’ve talked through a few preliminary designs and she’s going in an excellent direction. I look forward to the final version so I can create business cards. I can’t really rush her since she’s working for, well, the only rate I can pay right now, and she’s a full-time student. But stay tuned!

Although we get precious little time to meet, Ron O’Neal, Assistant Director of the Educational Opportunity Center at UPenn, continues to be most influential in the development of the vision and direction of Sphere College. He asks great questions and makes very insightful observations.

Much of last week was somewhat of a bust after some stomach virus wiped me out for several days.  I did meet Mark Pinto at the Phoenixville Public Library, who pointed out that this library is a Cooperating Collection of the Foundation Center. This is a very good thing. I’ll definitely be putting this resource to use.

My current students at Ursinus are working on collecting literature/philosophy books from students who no longer want them. I’ll hand them to students of Sphere College for Phase One. I’m quite serious about removing as many financial obstacles for my students as possible, and am very appreciative of the students at Ursinus for doing the book drive, and for donating books.

Barely a day passes that I don’t meet someone who is genuinely interested in and fascinated by this project. For example, I went to see my great friend Lisa Albrecht playing in the Excelsior Trombone Ensemble at Swarthmore. We went to lunch afterwards and I told them all about it. They love the idea, of course. (Hmm… when the time comes I’ll have to see whether I can involve them in a fundraiser for the college!) What convinces me that this project is going to be successful is the overwhelmingly positive reaction I receive each time I describe the vision of the college. Sure, some people are (rightfully) concerned about the business model — particularly in the current economic climate — but for the most part people get really excited about it and recognize that the time is right for this. My job now is simply to keep plugging away, continuing to do the best I can with it until Sphere College becomes a reality. And I’ll be back with an update in two-ish weeks to let you know how it’s going.

Richard

Links to topics mentioned above:

www.venatiocreo.com (a superb game development package for non-programmers — give it a try!)

www.excelsiortromboneensemble.com (fabulous group of trombonists I saw at Swarthmore)

Author: Richard Liston

Musician, computer scientist, educator. I'm creating a new educational environment for adults.

Leave a Reply

